Wednesday, June 30, 2010


Congratulations to Jane Mc Loughlin who won Teacher of Primary Science Award 2010. Jane is the only person to win this years award in Ireland or England (and the first Irish primary school teacher). Presentation of the awards was at the Institute of Physics Awards event in London in September. We are all so proud of Jane, it couldn't be awarded to a more dedicated and deservering teacher. Well done from Eileen and all the staff and children in Scoil Chaitriona Junior.

Visit the Institute of Physics (UK) site on
View Award winners on
View Teacher of Primary Science awards on
Visit the Institute of Physics of Ireland site on
Photo shows Jane being presented with her award by Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, the president of the Institute of Physics.
Video to be seen at  or   at
News article from the Institue of Physics in Ireland at
See the account of the event on the Discover Primary Science newsletter
Other information from IOP is at
Article from Galway Advertiser 21/10/10
From the Galway Science and Technology festival 2010 brochure
From St. Patrick's College, Drumcondra

Galway Science and Technology Festival 2010

No comments: